Kosher Coke Contains Real Sugar
By Chad Upton | Editor
In many countries, Coca-Cola and most other soft drinks, are sweetened with High Fructose Corn Syrup (HFCS). This is not real sugar from cane or beets, it is a processed sweetener made from corn that is almost identical to natural sugar.
There have been some debates and studies about whether or not HFCS is bad for us. Without getting into it, I will say that some people don’t have a problem eating HFCS and other people do.
The reasons for avoiding HFCS vary widely and one of them has led to Kosher Coke. Because high fructose corn syrup is made from corn (a grain) it cannot be consumed by (Orthodox) Ashkenazi Jews who refrain from eating grains during passover.
You can spot Kosher Coke by the yellow cap on the bottle (white in Chicago). It typically has a Kosher certification symbol and sometimes Hebrew characters. If you live near Cleveland the local bottler never switched to HFCS, so check the ingredients — your Coke might be perma-Kosher.
Whether you’re Jewish or not, you may want Kosher Coke because it has real sugar. But, Kosher Coke is not available everywhere. You may be able to find Mexican coke, which is popular in many American grocery stores, and it’s made with real cane sugar instead of corn sugar. There is also Pepsi Throwback, made with real sugar.
You may be wondering why they don’t use real sugar all the time? The answer is quite simple: it’s cheaper to process corn into sugar than import real sugar. Therefore, Pepsi Throwback usually costs slightly more than regular Pepsi. If you can find Kosher Coke this time of year then you’re actually getting a good deal since it’s typically the same price as regular Coke.
Photo: BenFrantzDale (cc)